Partita No. 1 in B Minor BWV 1002

  1. 1) Allemanda

  2. 2) Double

  3. 3) Corrente

  4. 4) Double (Presto)

  5. 5) Sarabande

  6. 6) Double

  7. 7) Tempo di Borea

  8. 8) Double

Sonata No. 1 in G Minor BWV 1001

  1. 9) Adagio

  2. 10) Fuga (Allegro)

  3. 11) Siciliana

  4. 12) Presto

Sonata No. 2 in A Minor BWV 1003

  1. 1) Grave

  2. 2) Fuga

  3. 3) Andante

  4. 4) Allegro

Sonata No. 3 in C BWV 1005

  1. 5) Adagio

  2. 6) Fuga

  3. 7) Largo

  4. 8) Allegro assai

Partita No. 3 in E BWV 1006

  1. 1) Preludio

  2. 2) Loure

  3. 3) Gavotte en Rondeau

  4. 4) Menuets I – II

  5. 5) Bourrée

  6. 6) Gigue

Partita No. 2 in D Minor BWV 1004

  1. 7) Allemande

  2. 8) Corrente

  3. 9) Sarabanda

  4. 10) Giga

  5. 11) Ciaccona

CD information

Julia Fischer’s award-winning 2005 album of Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin is released here for the first time in a highly collectible LP version.

Bach’s astonishing works remain unsurpassed for their boundless inventiveness, technical ingenuity and emotional depth. With their brilliant preludes, stately dances and complex four-part fugues, the demands on the performer are enormous – from rapid scale passages, double stopping and arpeggios, to the skill and concentration required to create the illusion of separately moving and interweaving voices

Fischer’s recording for PENTATONE was showered with praise upon its first release. “Classic accounts by Milstein and Grumiaux have been usurped by this extraordinarily gifted newcomer” enthused BBC Music Magazine. “Her mastery is beyond question,” affirmed Gramophone magazine “her ability to trace a smooth, even line a source of pleasure itself.” It also achieved the rare distinction of garnering three of France’s most prestigious awards: the Diapason d’Or from Diapason; the CHOC from Le Monde de la Musique; and the highest rating from Classica-Repertoire.

The recording is being released for the first time in an LP version with an exquisitely realised design which combines a mathematically proportioned layout with a delicate colour palette, a contemporary 18th century typeface and an elegantly embossed cover. With Fischer’s exceptional playing, it makes this release of Bach’s peerless works a must-have for all discerning collectors.

Julia Fischer has recorded extensively for PENTATONE and all her releases have received major recognition and awards. She plays on an Italian violin made by Giovanni Battista Guadagnini, dating from 1742.