Handel: Messiah


George Frideric Handel
Release Date: 16-10-2020
PTC: 5186853

High quality

(44.1/16)  19,50 Select

More information about sound quality


 19,50 27,95



George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)

Messiah, HWV 56

Part I

4) And the glory of the Lord shall be revealed (Chorus) 2: 36
5) Thus saith the Lord of Hosts (Accompagnato) 1:21
6) But who may abide the day of His coming (Air) 4:13
7) And He shall purify the sons of Levi (Chorus) 2:22
8) Behold, a virgin shall conceive (Recitative) 0:29
9) O thou that tellest good tidings to Zion (Air) 5:15
10) For behold, darkness shall cover the earth (Accompagnato) 1:43
11) The people that walked in darkness have seen a great light (Air) 3:45
14) There where shepherds abiding in the field (Recitative) 0:10
15) And lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them (Accompagnato) 0:23
16) And the angel said unto them (Recitative) 0:31
17) And suddenly there was with the angel (Accompagnato) 0:15
19) Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion (Air) 4:12
20) Then shall the eyes of the blind be open'd (Recitative) 0:25
21) He shall feed His flock like a shepherd (Duet) 4:50


25) Surely, He hath borne our griefs (Chorus) 1:39
26) And with His stripes we are healed (Chorus) 1:45
27) All we, like sheep, have gone astray (Chorus) 3:31
30) Thy rebuke hath broken His heart (Accompagnato) 1:31
36) Let all the angels of God worship Him (Chorus) 1:28
39) How beautiful are the feet of them (Air) 2:10
40) Their sound is gone out into all lands (Chorus) 1:22
42) Let as break their bonds asunder (Chorus) 1:50

Part III

Total Tracks 54
Total Duration 02hr 13min

Album information


The RIAS Kammerchor Berlin and its chief conductor Justin Doyle present Handel’s Messiah, together with the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin and an all-British quartet of outstanding soloists, consisting of Julia Doyle (soprano), Tim Mead (countertenor), Thomas Hobbs (tenor) and Roderick Williams (bass). Messiah (1742) is not only Handel’s most famous work, but equally one of the cornerstones of British choral culture. Over the years, a tradition of mass performances full of pomp and circumstance took root, with the Hallelujah as a showstopper. This new period-instruments recording, however, aims to bring the piece back to the size and intimacy of the earliest performances.

The Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin has a substantial PENTATONE discography, including Handel’s Concerti grossi Op. 6 and Op. 3, (released in 2019 and 2020), Telemann’s opera Miriways (2019) and CANTATA with Bejun Mehta (2018). The RIAS Kammerchor Berlin, Justin Doyle, Julia Doyle, Tim Mead, Thomas Hobbs and Roderick Williams all make their PENTATONE debut.

Released as a Standard CD Also available digitally to download & stream! Click here