February 28, 2019

Schubert’s Symphonies 1 & 6 is a vigorous, original and highly inspired performance!

A vigorous, original and highly inspired performance!

The Wholenote praises our release of Schubert – Symphonies 1 & 6″ with conductor René Jacobs and the B’Rock Orchestra. Read a glimpse of the review below!

The Sixth referred to as the Little C Major (as opposed to the Great C Major) is definitely a masterpiece and comes off even better. Everything makes sense, the extremely fast tempo at the ritornello of the Scherzo and its heavenly Trio, that marvellous second movement with its sudden outbursts of sadness and anger, the delightful fourth that dances along like a ballet with its interesting modulations, and that surprising sudden visionary reference to the great Ninth at the very end.

Janos Gardonyi

Read the full review on The WholeNote here!

Photo by Davy De Pauw