Ludwig van Beethoven: Violin Sonata No. 4 in A Minor, Op. 23 (arrangement for Flute Quintet: Guy Braunstein)

  1. 1) I. Presto


  2. 2) II. Andante scherzoso, più allegretto


  3. 3) III. Allegro molto


Hugo Wolf: Serenade in G major ("Italian") (arrangement for Flute Quintet: Guy Braunstein)

  1. 4) Sehr lebhaft


Fritz Kreisler: Syncopation (Arrangement for Flute Quartet: Guy Braunstein)

  1. 5) Allegretto grazioso


Antonin Dvořák: "American" String Quartet No. 12 in F major, Op. 96 (Arrangement for Flute quartet: Guy Braunstein)

  1. 6) I. Allegro ma non troppo


  2. 7) II. Lento


  3. 8) III. Molto vivace


  4. 9) IV. Finale. Vivace ma non troppo


CD information


Old Souls presents masterworks of Beethoven, Dvořák, Wolf and Kreisler in new arrangements for flute and strings, played by a group of outstanding young musicians. Guy Braunstein’s arrangements display these well-known pieces in a fresh new light, while simultaneously expanding the flute repertoire and showcasing the exceptional possibilities of the instrument, here played by Gili Schwarzman. Braunstein and Schwarzman are joined by violinist Susanna Yoko Henkel, violist Amihai Grosz and cellist Alisa Weilerstein. While the arrangement of Beethoven’s Violin Sonata Op. 23 entails a thorough recomposition of the original, the performances of Dvořák’s “American” String Quartet, Wolf’s “Italian” Serenade and Kreisler’s Syncopation stay closer to the source, with the flute taking up the role originally played by the first violin. The use of the flute creates novel sonic sensations through the way it blends with the strings, and at times gives the pieces a sparkle they did not have before.

Guy Braunstein expands his PENTATONE discography, after having already released Tchaikovsy Treasures in 2019. Alisa Weilerstein presented Transfigured Night in 2018 as the first fruit of her exclusive collaboration with PENTATONE. Gili Schwarzman, Susanna Yoko Henkel and Amihai Grosz make their label debut.

Released physically on standard CD.

Also available digitally to stream & download! Click here

Related items

Bach Cello Suites - Alisa Weilerstein